top of page

Futsal debut for Lithuania as they host.

Lithuania are not just hosting but actually taking part in a Futsal World Cup for the first time. The 24 teams have been divided up into six groups of four teams.

Hosts Lithuania are in Group A and will get the tournament underway on 12 September in the Kaunas Arena against Venezuela, who are also taking part in the tournament for the first time. Defending champions Argentina find themselves in Group F, with their first match coming against USA in Vilnius. Five-time winners Brazil (whose last trophy came in 2012) are in Group D and face Vietnam in their opener in Klaipeda.

Five years ago in Colombia, Argentina won their first FIFA Futsal World Cup, the Albiceleste defeating Russia 5-4 in the final. Prior to that, only Brazil (record-holders with five titles) and Spain (two titles) had ever won the tournament. We spoke to Argentina’s No.10 Constantino Vaporaki, who scored the winner in the final, about the effects that the World Cup win had on the country.

5 views0 comments


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page